Ideas for making your own milking cow

For the VBS preview events in January, we were able to borrow a wooden milking cow that we used in the VBS Expo.

Our cow was cut from plywood – there were four pieces that were slotted to fit together.

On the inside of the cow, a square wooden brace was screwed to two sides of the calf. Four holes were drilled in the bottom of a pink plastic bucket and 4 calf-feeder teats were rubber cemented into the holes. (Make sure that your rubber cement will glue plastic to rubber!) We filled the bucket with a solution of water and powdered milk, placed the bucket in the brace, and had ourselves a milking cow!

Emilie on our LifeWay VBS facebook page found these directions for making a wooden milking cow.

Sorry we don’t have a pattern or more pictures – mine were lost in a hard drive crash! But many of you got great pictures of the cow – in fact, if you have some pics of how it was put together, could you send them to me at lifewayvbs@gmail.com? Of if anyone has already made a pattern of the cow that they would like to share with everyone, please send it to me at lifewayvbs@gmail.com.

APRIL 25 UPDATE:

Thanks to Allie for sending some pictures of the cow for me to post. I still don’t have a pattern, so if anyone has one to share, send it on!

APRIL 26 UPDATE:

Here’s a little video I found that might help a bit with making the cow – it was taken at our VBS preview event in January at Ridgecrest!

19 thoughts on “Ideas for making your own milking cow

  1. I am in great need of the pattern for the cow. Do you have any ideas of where I may be able to get one?
    Thanks, RoseMary

  2. I have been unable to find the feeder teats can anyone help with where to get them

  3. My husband made this for me today for our pre registration event this weekend. Can’t wait to use it. It is SOOOO cute. We got the Feeder teats from Tractor supply. We are putting the milk in Mason Jars and connecting them using the rings provided from Tractor supply so we don’t have to do the rubber cementing

  4. That is so insanely cute! Too late for me to make something like this for this year. But I can’t wait to see what you guys come up with for next year!

  5. Thanks for the helpful posting. It is also my opinion that mesothelioma
    cancer has an very long latency interval,
    which means that indication of the disease may well not
    emerge until finally 30 to 50 years after the original exposure to asbestos fiber.
    Pleural mesothelioma, and that is the most common form and has
    effects on the area about the lungs, could potentially cause shortness
    of breath, chest pains, including a persistent cough, which may bring on coughing up maintain.

  6. Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few
    of the pictures aren’t loading correctly. I’m not sure why but
    I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same results.

  7. Everyone loves what you guys are up too.
    This kind of clever work and reporting! Keep up the terrific works guys I’ve included you guys to my own blogroll.

  8. I do not even understand how I ended up right here, but I believed this put up was good.
    I do not recognize who you’re however certainly you are going to a well-known blogger if you happen to are not already. Cheers!

  9. This is great I totally want to try for a themed Birthday, do you have an estimated project cost?

  10. I like the helpful info you supply to your articles. I will bookmark your blog and take a
    look at once more here frequently. I am moderately sure I’ll be told plenty of new stuff proper right here! Best of luck for the next!

  11. When some one searches for his essential thing, so he/she wishes to be available that in detail, so that thing
    is maintained over here.

  12. Just wish to say your article is as surprising.
    The clarity in your publish is just cool and that i can assume
    you are knowledgeable in this subject. Fine along with
    your permission allow me to seize your feed to stay up to date with impending post.
    Thank you a million and please keep up the enjoyable work.

  13. Magnificent beat ! I would like to apprentice
    while you amend your web site, how could i subscribe for a
    blog site? The account aided me a acceptable deal.
    I had been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided bright clear concept

Leave a Reply

